a criminal defense
Greeley DUI Defense Attorney
Arrested for Intoxicated Driving in Colorado? Get Help From a Top Criminal Defense Attorney
At Bruno Lilly Legal, PLLC, our Colorado drugged and drunk driving defense attorneys are zealous, trial-tested advocates for motorists. We provide legal defense for driving under the influence of alcohol and marijuana. We firmly believe that every defendant deserves personalized legal representation. If you or someone you know was arrested for intoxicated driving, we are more than ready to help.
Call our Greeley law office at 720-340-1373 or send us a direct message for a completely confidential consultation.
An Overview of Intoxicated Driving Charges in Colorado
Colorado takes impaired driving charges very seriously. A person found in control of a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration over the legal limit can be arrested. One can also be considered driving intoxicated while under the influence of marijuana. Here are four things to know about the DUI/DWAI laws in Colorado:
The Legal Limit is 0.08—With Exceptions:
Under Colorado law (C.R.S. 42-4-1301), the maximum legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 for most drivers. However, drivers under the age of 21 and drivers who are actively operating commercial vehicles are subject to a reduced BAC limit.
Marijuana DUI/DWAI Can Lead to Jail Time, Fines, and More
First conviction penalties for marijuana DUI in Colorado can be but are not limited to 5 days to one year in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, driver’s license suspension, and community service. If second and third convictions occur, one could be facing an additional year in jail with increased fines, license suspensions, and increased community service requirements. As for marijuana DWAIs in Colorado, you can similarly face fines and jail time. After four or more offenses, the penalties grow in severity.
DUI Penalties are More Severe With Each Offense
Drunk driving penalties in Colorado are based, in large part, on a defendant’s history. A first-offense DUI carries penalties of 5 days to 1 year in jail, a $600 to $1,000 fine, and a 9-month license suspension. A second-offense DUI carries penalties of 10 days to 1 year in jail, a $600 to $1,500 fine, and one-year license revocation. The penalties get more severe with each offense and can eventually become a felony.
Aggravating Factors May Lead to Increased Criminal Penalties
Beyond prior DUI/DWAI offenses, other factors may lead to a defendant facing more severe penalties. Some examples of aggravating factors in a drunk driving case in Colorado include extreme intoxication, reckless driving, the presence of a child in the vehicle, and/or causing an accident while intoxicated.
What Constitutes a Colorado DWAI?
In Colorado, you are considered to be DWAI if you are affected by drugs or alcohol in “the slightest degree”. Basically, this means any measurable amount that makes you less able to safely operate a vehicle will trigger a Colorado DWAI charge. This law applies to marijuana as much as it does alcohol and the legal ramifications are the same.
Legal Limits for DWAI in Colorado
- DWAI is anything over 0.05% but under 0.08%
- DUI is triggered by anything over 0.08%
- DWAI is any amount that impairs your ability to drive
- DUI is 5 nanograms of THC/milliliter of whole blood
Defending DWAI in Colorado
DUI charges have set limits for blood alcohol content and for THC limits. DWAI charges differ in that your inability to drive must be proven by the prosecutor. For example, if your blood alcohol content or THC level was under the legal limit, and your driving was not affected, you did not commit a DWAI.
If you or someone you know has been charged with a DWAI or DUI for operating a motor vehicle high, experienced legal defense is wise. Bruno Lilly is an alcohol and marijuana DWAI lawyer serving Colorado, please give us a call if you have any questions.
Frequently Asked Questions About DUI and DWAI in Colorado
Can I Speed Up the Sobering Process?
You cannot speed up the sobering process by drinking caffeine, eating certain foods, taking cold showers, or exercising. You simply have to wait to sober up naturally. You can drink water and drinks high in electrolytes to help you stay hydrated though.
What Do Police Officers Look For In a Drunk Driver After They’ve Pulled Someone Over?
Officers that pull over drivers on suspicion of drunk driving tend to look for slurred speech, bloodshot eyes, the odor of alcohol, pupil dilation, and a flushed face. If they suspect the driver is intoxicated, they’ll likely ask them to perform a number of tests to confirm they’re able to operate the vehicle legally.
What Penalties Do I Face If I’m Arrested For Underage Drinking and Driving (UDD) in Colorado?
Having a BAC of 0.02-0.05 could result in numerous penalties such as a 3-month license suspension for a 1st-time offense, a 6-month license suspension for a 2nd-time offense, a 1-year suspension for a 3rd or subsequent offense, and 4 points against the driver’s license. If you or a child were arrested for UDD, contact our firm immediately. We’ll build a strong defense and help you defend your rights.
What Is a DMV Hearing?
A DMV (Division of Motor Vehicles) hearing is scheduled for a division officer to review the evidence of an alleged DUI, DWAI, or UDD and decide whether or not that individual’s license should be suspended, denied, or canceled. Facing a DMV hearing? Let our firm help you keep your license!
You Can Rely On DUI Defense Lawyer Havilah Louise Bruno Lilly
A drunk driving charge or drugged driving charge could cost you money, your license, and even your freedom. Our managing partner Havilah Louise Bruno Lilly has the skills, experience, and tenacity that you can rely on. Among other things, our Colorado DUI defense lawyer is prepared to:
- Conduct a comprehensive, confidential assessment of your case;
- Answer your questions and explain the next steps in the process;
- Investigate the case and review the arrest to ensure your rights were respected; and
- Develop a defense strategy focused on helping you secure the best outcome.
Our law firm has a history of success stories across a wide range of criminal matters. We know that every DUI/DWAI case is different. With a commitment to personalized representation, our Colorado drunk driving defense lawyers will put forward the time and resources needed to get your results.
“If you need a good defense attorney, this legal team is the best that I have ever used. I am 50 years old and raised in St. Louis, MO so I have had my share of attorneys in different states and by far the Bruno Lilly team is exceptional! I never had to wait for someone to call me back they would get back to me within moments. She kept me informed every step of the way, plus my case was treated with high priority just like all other cases she was handling. This law firm stood close by my side till the end. The energy and confidence Mrs. Lilly displayed in the courtroom gave me peace of mind to know that everything would turn out great. If you need a great lawyer, this is definitely the call to make! Thank you Bruno Lilly team for fighting and winning for me!” – R.C., Former Client
Call Our Greeley DUI/DWAI Defense Attorneys for Immediate Help
At Bruno Lilly Legal, PLLC, our criminal defense lawyers have the professional expertise needed to handle the full spectrum of drunk driving and drugged driving charges. If you or your loved one was arrested for a DUI, we can help. Contact our legal team now for your strictly confidential, no-obligation initial case evaluation. From our Greeley law office, we provide DUI/DWAI defense representation throughout the region, including in Weld County.
People v. A. G. - Weld County
Client charged with domestic violence.
Case dismissed - January 2022
People v. S. A. - Weld County
Client charged with domestic violence.
Case dismissed - January 2022
Contact Bruno Lilly Legal today to get a case consultation. Learn more about what we can do for you.
The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters and electronic mail. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.
From our Greeley office, we provide legal representation to those in Greeley, Loveland, Windsor, Boulder, Fort Collins, Berthoud, Evans, Eaton, Brighton, Fort Lupton, Boulder County, Larimer County, Weld County, and Adams County.